Flanders: part of a federal state

Belgium is a federal state

Six state reforms  (1970, 1980, 1988-89, 1993, 2001 and 2014) have transformed unitary Belgium into a federal state consisting of two types of federated states: Communities and Regions. There are three Communities: the Flemish Community (including the Dutch-speaking inhabitants of the Brussels-Capital region), the French Community (including the French-speaking inhabitants of the Brussels-Capital region) and the German-speaking Community. Besides there are three Regions: the Flemish Region, the Walloon Region and the Brussels-Capital Region.

Read more


The political structure


Le fédéralisme budgétaire
Source: Bayenet, B., Feron, M., Gilbert, V., & Thys-Clément, F. (2000). Le fédéralisme budgétaire: mode d’emploi (No. 2013/8843). ULB–Universite Libre de Bruxelles

Read more